May 22, 2024


Dennis Maara wins first KAGC season title in Thika

Dennis Maara won his first Kenya Amateur Golf Championship, KAGC, 2023 season trophy today after shooting four over 76 in the final round at Thika Sports Club.

Despite starting the final round with a shot advantage over John Lejirma, Maara had a tough outing managing only one birdie and five bogeys for a final score of six over gross to clinch the Winston Churchill Cup. .

Lejirma put up a good fight and was in the lead after the front nine where he shot level par with two birdies and two bogeys. But just like last week when he lost the fight to Mike Karanga at Muthaiga Open, Lejirma failed to hold on to the lead after a disastrous back nine where he shot four over 40 for 76 gross to settle for runners-up position alongside youngster Elvis Muigua.

It was Muigua’s best performance in the KAGC series after a final round performance of two over 74 headlined by three birdies earned him his maiden podium finish.  

Maara, the reigning Kenya Amateur Match Play champion took home Kshs 63,700 while Lejirma and Muigua earned Kshs 31,850 each. Series front runner Karanga finished T5 after posting 11 over par.


D Maara      +6

J Lejirma    +7

E Muigua    +7

C Owuor      +9

N Kimemia +10

S Kiaro        +11

A Ssekibaja  +11

M Karanga   +11

J Gitonga     +12

S Mulama     +14

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *