May 22, 2024

Team Muthaiga opens Tannahill Shield defence in style

Team Muthaiga opens Tannahill Shield defence in style

Team Muthaiga opened a six-point gap at the top of the leaderboard after vanquishing all opponents on the opening day of the Tannahill Shield 2022 at Royal Nairobi Golf Club. Matched against Team Vetlab and Team Sigona, Muthaiga collected the maximum 16 points on offer after winning all her eight matches.

The lethal pairing of Njoroge Kibugu and Taimur Malik was no doubt the hottest combination winning their two matches with embarrassing 7/6 and 6/4 margins. They will face a sterner test tomorrow when they take on Team Royal in the day’s first match.

Team Royal put up a spirited performance to finish joint second on 10 points alongside Western and Limuru to rekindle hopes of wresting the shield from Muthaiga. Royal won three matches against Karen and two against Limuru to sign off the day in high spirits ahead of tomorrow’s gigantic task.

Team Western was a joy to watch as they dominated most of their matches winning four and tying two. The pairing of Luther Kamau and Victor Maiyo brought home four points to keep the westerners on course in their hunt for a second Tannahill Shield title.  They are in the good company of Team Limuru who’s five straight wins- against Railway and Team Mombasa- earned them an overnight podium finish and set up an explosive clash with the westerners tomorrow.

It was a bad day in office for Team Karen and Team Sigona as they fell off the pace after low key performances in the opening games. Team Karen will have to step up its game tomorrow to avoid dropping into the familiar relegation zone. An optimistic Team Sigona is confident of lifting off the basement tomorrow when they take on Royal and Western.

All teams will play two rounds of 16 matches tomorrow. The final matches will take place on Sunday morning.

Earlier in the day, Team Muthaiga won the inaugural Seniors tournament after returning a gross score of 242 ahead of Team Royal and Team Railway on 255 and 260 respectively.


Muthaiga   16

Royal          10

Western      10

Limuru        10

Railway        09

Vetlab          06

Mombasa    05

Karen           04

Sigona         02

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *